Sioux Falls Stampede Tickets

Sioux Falls Stampede Tickets

If you love junior hockey, then you’ve heard of the Stampede. This incredible team plays their home games from the ice at Denny Sanford Premier Center where they take on the league’s biggest teams in some of the most intense matches around. Every point is hard won and every play is a thrill ride that makes fans cheer and shout. Every season, the Stampede plays some of the best hockey of the season and have earned several accolades, awards, and fame for their talent on the ice.

Sports news loves to watch them and fans can’t get enough of them and that’s why tickets sell out as soon as they go on sale. So it’s easy to miss out on the fun. But this site makes it easy to keep up to date and to secure the tickets you need in a few simple clicks.

ice hockey Sioux Falls Stampede

About Sioux Falls Arena

The Sioux Falls Stampede play their games out of The Denny Sanford Premiere Center. The venue is an indoor arena connected to the Sioux Falls Arena and Sioux Falls Convention Center.

The venue was completed in 2014 with a seating capacity of about 12,000 fans and was built to replace the DakotaDome and Rushmore Plaza Civic Center as South Dakota’s largest indoor venue. While it is the home for the Sioux Falls Stampede, it also hosts smaller concerts and events as well as larger scale concerts and sporting events.


Plans to replace the Sioux Falls Arena were set since 1999. Because the old arena was built in 1961 when the population of the city was closer to 65,000 people. But by the year 2000, the population nearly doubled. So the arena was simply not enough to meet the demands of the city.

So construction began on the new venue in 2012 and it was finally opened to the public on September 19, 2014. The first concert held at the event was for Joan Jett and the Blackhearts and Starship featuring Mickey Thomas was held on September 24, 2014.

Ice Hockey Team Summary

The Sioux Falls Stampede are a Tier I junior ice hockey team based in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. The team play as members of the Western Conference of the United States Hockey League (USHL). The team plays their games out of the Denny Sanford Premiere Center, which is the largest indoor facility in capacity and size in the USHL. The team was first established in 1999 and is owned by Sioux Falls Sports LLC.


Plans to bring a USHL expansion team to the city of Sioux Falls began in 1994. However, expansion talks had failed on three separate occasions largely due to the city’s failure to provide a permanent home and publicly-backed funds. The new team that became the Stampede was contested by The Minnehaha Ice and Recreation Center and Expo Ice Arena at the W.H. Lyon Fairgrounds. However, the organization also lacked sufficient locker rooms or accommodations to meet league standards.

Then, in 1998, there was interest expressed in adding a USHL team to Sioux Falls. A proposal was made on January 26, 1998 to the league. But unlike previous proposals, an investment firm was willing to help privately fund improvements at an existing facility or the construction of a brand new one.

This was when the league president awarded the city a franchise to begin play in September 1999.

Hockey Achievements

Since the team was founded, it has qualified for the Clark Cup playoffs in 15 of 20 seasons. It holds three Clark Cup championships with their most recent winning season in the 2018-19 season. The team has also won a handful of conference and division championships and has been awarded the Anderson Cup in the 2005-06 season for the league’s highest win percentage. The team also holds the USHL single-season attendance record at 200,597 fans over the 2015-16 season and have won the USHL organization of the year award five times. Lastly, 35 of the team’s former players have gone on to skate in the NHL.

In summary, here’s a brief rundown of the team’s achievements.


  • Regular season titles 1 Anderson Cup (2005–06)
  • Division titles 1 (2005–06)
  • Conference titles 2 (2015, 2019)
  • Playoff championships 3 Clark Cups (2007, 2015 and 2019)